Sustainable Development Goals - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

Indicator 14.5.1: Coverage of protected areas in relation to marine areas

Not Applicable in the local context

Local governments do not have jurisdiction over marine areas. In California, the tidelands up to 3 nautical miles from shore are managed by the California State Lands Commission. The Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone and, Exclusive Economic Zone are regulated by the federal government. The Magnuson-Stevens Act is the primary law governing marine fisheries management in U.S. federal waters.

This table provides metadata for the actual indicator available from City of Los Angeles statistics closest to the corresponding global SDG indicator. Please note that even when the global SDG indicator is fully available from Angeleno statistics, this table should be consulted for information on national methodology and other Angeleno-specific metadata information.

Indicator available
Indicator description
Target line
Geographical coverage
Unit of measurement
Disaggregation Categories
WCCD/ISO 37120 Indicators on City Data Alignment
Other information
Data last updated 2018-10-20: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Metadata last updated 2020-03-11: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

This table provides information on metadata for SDG indicators as defined by the UN Statistical Commission. Complete global metadata is provided by the UN Statistics Division.

Indicator name

Coverage of protected areas in relation to marine areas

Indicator number


Target name

By 2020, conserve at least 10 per cent of coastal and marine areas, consistent with national and international law and based on the best available scientific information

Target number


Global indicator description

The indicator Coverage of protected areas in relation to marine areas shows temporal trends in the mean percentage of each important site for marine biodiversity (i.e., those that contribute significantly to the global persistence of biodiversity) that is covered by designated protected areas.

UN designated tier


UN custodian agency

UN Environment World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) BirdLife International (BLI) International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Link to UN metadata United Nations Sustainable Development Goals Metadata (PDF 293 KB) opens in a new window